Meet Natalie: All Our Kin’s New Policy Fellow

Hello! My name is Natalie, and I just started working at All Our Kin as the new Policy Fellow. I am so excited to engage with the All Our Kin community, especially the incredible family child care professionals who dedicate themselves to providing quality, affordable child care for Connecticut families. As a Connecticut native and a graduate of the University of Connecticut, I look forward to supporting the people who are transforming early childhood experiences in my home state.

The Policy Fellowship is a dream position for 13669380_10207086066614006_466063884063282846_o
me, because it allows me to combine my passion for empowering communities with my belief in policy as a critical tool for effecting widespread change. My journey to All Our Kin began in January 2013, when I moved to Washington D.C. for a semester-long internship with Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT). There, I was spurred to action by the reality of poverty in our nation’s capital. I was also in regular communication with Connecticut constituents, who often voiced concerns related to employment, education, and the welfare of children and families.

With this in mind, I organized and led twelve university students on an immersive learning and volunteer experience to D.C. in the spring of 2015.  During this trip, we had the opportunity to work with and learn from a variety of organizations addressing issues related to urban poverty and political action. Across all the organizations, it was evident to me that a person’s path in life is often largely determined by their early childhood experiences.

Most recently, I spent a year in the beautiful town of Pravets, Bulgaria, where I was a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant for students in grades eight through twelve. Seeing the outcomes of educational inequality in the classroom every day, I grew passionate about becoming an advocate for the time when it all begins: early childhood. That is why I am at All Our Kin, and that is why I am so inspired by the work of our providers.

I have already jumped right in, attending meetings, coordinating site visits, reviewing upcoming policy issues, managing social media, and working on presentations. I am most looking forward to meeting the family child care professionals in All Our Kin’s network, and seeing their work in action. And of course, I am excited to work with our providers, partners, and policy-makers to ensure that Connecticut makes family child care a policy priority!

I will maintain regular outreach via this blog during my time here, so check back often! If you are a family child care provider, I’d love to hear from you if you would like to share your story, write a blog post, get involved in advocacy work, or touch base about your experience as an early childhood professional and how I can best support your mission. Please feel free to contact me at natalie@allourkin.org at any time. Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in All Our Kin Staff, family child care, policy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

