All Our Kin Provider Natasha Auguste-Williams Speaks about the Importance of Child Care Subsidies: “Care4Kids not only impacts children and families, but also the businesses like mine that support them”

Earlier today, our partners at the Connecticut Early Childhood Alliance and the Connecticut Commission on Women, Children and Seniors hosted a forum on Care4Kids at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford. Parents, providers, advocates, and legislators joined together to discuss the impact of changes to Care4Kids program eligibility on Connecticut’s economic infrastructure. All Our Kin provider Natasha Auguste-Williams, who runs Sweetpea Home Daycare in Bridgeport, spoke at the forum to share the importance of Care4Kids on her ability to provide quality care to children in her community.

natasha-and-babyYou can watch Natasha’s speech here (starts at 57:20), or read it below:

“Good morning. My name is Natasha Auguste-Williams. I have been a Bridgeport family child care provider for six years. I wanted to open a home daycare because I wanted to start a family, make a difference in a child’s life, and to offer quality care to children in my community, serving single-parent families and low-income families. I wanted my program to be different because a lot of people think that when you have a home daycare the kids just come and sit inside and watch TV, you feed them and change their diaper. I wanted to change that. I wanted to start a program where books are within every child’s reach, and where there are hands-on opportunities to learn and explore. Prepare them for kindergarten and their future, nurture them, offer nutritious healthy meals, field trips, a fruits and vegetables garden, and give them a safe and healthy environment to play, explore, grow and have fun while learning. Although most of the children in my program are English speaking, I teach them basic Spanish and Sign Language as well. I serve a community where there is a great need for quality affordable care. As a mom and a provider who lives in Bridgeport I know finding quality affordable care is a challenge.

I currently care for 6 full time children and 3 children before/after school. All of the families receive Care4Kids. Some of the parents travel as far as New York City for work. I could not provide the type of high quality care that I do now without support from Care4Kids. Without Care4Kids, the parents I serve would have an even harder time finding affordable, quality care, and would possibly have to quit their jobs or leave their children with an unlicensed caregiver, with someone who does not offer quality care, or leave them home alone.

Without Care4Kids, low-income families often have to jump around from child care to child care to make things work. When this happens, children regress in their development. Moving a child from a provider they have been with since they were a baby can create anxiety, stress, and impact the child’s development, trust, and ability to feel secure.

Without income from Care4Kids, my business would not survive and a lot of other family child care providers would lose their businesses as well. Some of us have been working in early childhood for decades, and would have a difficult time finding another job. If new families continue to be shut out from the Care4Kids program, this is a real possibility that many others and I will face. We will face not only losing our business but also our homes, and our families will suffer. Care4Kids not only impacts children and families, but also the businesses like mine that support them and that are now worried about having to close their doors. I urge you to do whatever you can do to restore full funding to Care4Kids so that new families can access this important program. I love my job and I want to continue providing high quality care to children.”

We thank Natasha for taking the time to share her perspective, and we thank all the family child care providers in our network for the work they do to support children and families in these challenging economic times.

This entry was posted in family child care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

